Skip to content

Plant Research Center

Research Interests

All aspects of plant biology, ranging from biochemical studies of ion homeostasis in plant cells to plant-pathogen interactions, to mathematical modeling of plant ecology, to targeted modification of plants for biofuel production.

UT Knoxville

Gladys Alexandre: Plant-microbe interactions (galexan2@utk.edu)

Barry Bruce: Chloroplast biochemistry/biology (bbruce@utk.edu)

Beth Mullin: Plant-microbe interactions (bmullin@utk.edu)

Dan Roberts: Calcium signaling (drobert2@utk.edu)

Andreas Nebenf├╝hr: Plant cell biology (nebenfuehr@utk.edu)

Elena Shpak: Plant growth and development (eshpak@utk.edu)

Albrecht von Arnim: Signaling and protein interactions (vonarnim@utk.edu)

Taylor Field: Plant evolutionary ecophysiology (tfeild@utk.edu)

James Fordyce: Plant-insect interactions (jfordyce@utk.edu)

Sergey Gavrilets: Theoretical evolutionary biology (gavrila@tiem.utk.edu)

Lou Gross: Mathematical biology (gross@tiem.utk.edu)

Karen Hughes: Mycology (khughes@utk.edu)

Nathan Sanders: Community ecology (nsanders@utk.edu)

Ed Schilling: Plant systematics (eschilling@utk.edu)

Jen Schweitzer: Plant-herbivore interactions (Jen.Schweitzer@utk.edu)

Dan Simberloff: Biodiversity (dsimberloff@utk.edu)

Randy Small: Plant systematics (rsmall@utk.edu)

David Smith: Bryology (dsmith22@utk.edu)

Joe Williams: Plant evolutionary biology (joewill@utk.edu)

UT Institute of Agriculture

Fred Allen: Variety testing/agronomy (allenf@utk.edu)

Bob Auge: Physiological ecology/drought (auge@utk.edu)

Feng Chen: Functional genomics/VOCs (fengc@utk.edu)

Max Cheng: Woody plant biotechnology (zcheng@utk.edu)

Dennis Deyton: Fruit crop physiology (deytond@utk.edu)

Dean Kopsell: Vegetable physiology (dkopsell@utk.edu)

Tom Mueller: Weed science (tmueller@utk.edu)

Vince Pantalone: Soybean breeding (vpantalo@utk.edu)

Carl Sams: Crop physiology (carlsams@utk.edu)

John Sorochan: Turfgrass biology (sorochan@utk.edu)

Larry Steckel: Weed science (lsteckel@utk.edu)

Neal Stewart: Environmental plant biotechnology (nealstewart@utk.edu)

Dennis West: Corn breeding (dwest3@utk.edu)

Janice Zale: Monocot genetics (jzale@utk.edu)

Kim Gwinn: Natural products (kgwinn@utk.edu)

Reza Hajimorad: Plant virology (mrh@utk.edu)

Kurt Lamour: Functional genomics of pathogens (klamour@utk.edu)

Bonnie Ownley: Plant pathology (bownley@utk.edu)

Bob Trigiano: Biotechnology/plant pathology (rtrigian@utk.edu)

Mark Windham: Plant pathology of ornamentals (mwindham@utk.edu)

Joe Bozell: Biomass chemistry (jbozell@utk.edu)

David Buckley: Silviculture (dbuckley@utk.edu)

Jennifer Franklin: Tree physiology (jafranklin@utk.edu)

David Harper: Wood chemistry/materials (dharper4@utk.edu)

Nicole Labbe: Biomass chemistry (nlabbe@utk.edu)

Tim Rials: Wood chemistry (trials@utk.edu)

Scott Schlarbaum: Tree breeding (tenntip@utk.edu)

Mike Essington: Rhizosphere chemistry (messington@utk.edu)

Mark Radosovich: Soil biochemistry (mrad@utk.edu)

John Wilkerson: Remote sensing (wilkerj@utk.edu)

Al Womac: Biomass harvest and processing (awomac@utk.edu)

Phillip Ye: Biomass chemistry and engineering (xye2@utk.edu)

Oak Ridge National Lab

Virginia Dale: Landscape ecology (dalevh@ornl.gov)

Paul Hanson: Plant ecophysiology (hansonpj@ornl.gov)

Udaya Kalluri: Genomics/C sequestration/ auxin (kalluriudayc@ornl.gov)

Madhavi Martin: Plant molecular ecology (martinm1@ornl.gov)

Rich Norby: Plant physiological ecology (norbyrj@ornl.gov)

Mac Post: Carbon sequestration (wmp@ornl.gov)

Tim Tschaplinski: Plant metabolomics (tschaplinstj@ornl.gov)

Jerry Tuskan: Poplar genomics/tree biology (tuskanga@ornl.gov)

Stan Wullsheger: Physiological genetics (wullschlegsd@ornl.gov)

Contact

Neal Stewart
Phone: (865) 974-6487
Email: nealstewart@utk.edu

Website: http://prc.utk.edu/

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.